(in)courage Bloom Book Club Blog – “Bread & Wine” by Shauna Niequist (Part 1)

At the time I’m writing this post, I’m not finished “Bread & Wine” by Shauna Niequist. Why? Well not because I don’t love the book – I do. It’s just that I equate reading a great book to eating a nice meal. Savoring each page, each story as slowly as possible. When we eat fast food or a quick bite to eat, we rush through the meal in order to move on to the next item on our to-do list. But when we take the time to sit, relax, and slowly eat a meal (whether we made it ourselves or not) I believe we enjoy each bite much more.

That’s not to say I’m not jealous of fast readers – sometimes I would love to devour a great book just to know the ending right away! I’ve just become a slower reader over the past few years. For some reason with this book in particular, I find my mind running wild after each chapter. I think of all the dinner parties I’ve hosted and ideas I can incorporate into future parties. I think of all the new recipes I can challenge myself to make. And which ingredients we already have in the house, which ones we need to buy. And I wonder where I’ll be able to buy ones I’ve never heard of (chicken apple sausage?!? sounds delicious!).

Reading late one night (1am-ish), I even jumped out of bed to check the steaks in our freezer. Why? Because I had to know if I could make “Steak au Poivre with Cognac Pan Sauce”. Sadly, we have T-bone, which of course is not any of the 3 cuts she recommends. I know some of you who are way better at cooking than me are probably thinking, just adapt the recipe to allow for what you have! But I am definitely in agreement with Shauna’s advice of following recipes to a T on a first attempt. So we’ll make the T-bones soon and I hope we love them no matter what recipe or cooking method we use. Then for our next steak craving, this recipe is on deck!

So to sum up this part-book review/part-rambling session, I already love this book and I hope you do too. And I hope we’re all able to truly enjoy taking a break from the business of our to-do list world and savor every story and recipe. It’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

