What has God placed on my heart to share with others?

The next Proverbs 31 OBS starts on Sunday. It will be my second study, and this time, I really want to become involved. During my first study only a few short months ago (“Stressed-Less Living” by Tracie Miles) I invited two friends to join along. Together the three of us were super motivated to read and participate. Then real life happened. The book was put down in order to get work done, the near-daily emails were filed away to read “later”, and worst of all there was no attempt to participate in the “blog hops”. I didn’t have a blog, so why bother with those reminders? The idea of starting one seemed overwhelming and I had every excuse you could think of in order to not start one. I didn’t know which hosting website to use… what my blog name should be… what if I have nothing interesting to write… what if no one reads or cares about my blog? The list went on and on.

In preparation for these online studies, I guess you can consider me (really) fashionably late or super early. Either way, I’m doing this. My change of heart happened when I realized how much I was missing out. All the girls had nothing but good things to say about their progress with the study. I didn’t feel the same way. And when I thought about it, I realized I was putting in very minimal effort. Very minimal effort = very minimal results.

Not this time.

Now, back to the title of this post. I read this question earlier today posed by author Lysa TerKeurst and struggled with it for hours. When I think of the answer I’m brought to tears. I moved last year to a new state and I constantly question if I made the right decision. Besides the friends and family I left behind, I just constantly crave the support and encouragement of other Godly women. Phone calls, text messages, and online Bible studies are great, but nothing ever replaces the joy of having a few friends to be able to confide in – in person. The answer is easy, just put myself out there. But the process (at least in my mind) – saying the first hello, extending the first invitation for coffee – is terrifying.

I guess my hesitation to interact both online and in-person needs a lot of work. So, I pray that through reading and participating in this OBS for “What Happens When Women Say Yes to God” by Lysa TerKeurst helps me to grow closer to others, while also growing closer to God.

YES! I am doing this!

Leave a Reply

