(in)courage Bloom Book Club Blog – “Bread & Wine” by Shauna Niequist (Part 3)

I’m linking this post to the Bloom Community Link-Up!

I’m not even sure how many times I’ve made this chili. It stretches into days and days of leftover meals just for myself. It’s a great comfort meal on cold winter nights. It’s perfect for having a few friends over watching a football game. And most importantly, it’s been the reason for my loved ones stuffed into my tiny, one-bedroom apartment for a friendly, competitive cook-off.

For the longest time, I only made chili in my slow cooker. In fact, I though it was one of the only foods that could be made in a slow cooker. Silly me! Now I make (among many other delicious recipes): this. This. And these.

Needless to say, I’ve grown to love my slow cooker.

Unfortunately, my chili recipe is not available online (at least from where I’ve searched) so all I have is this 5+ year old Suntrust bank magazine clipping. The only adjustment I make is omitting the jalapeno peppers because I don’t like super spicy foods. Otherwise, I think the dish is perfect as the recipe card reads. We’ve eaten this chili by itself and with warm corn bread. It’s also a great tortilla chip topper.

scan0002

In addition to Shauna’s recipes, I hope to try some of yours as well! Check out my first and second posts on Shauna Niequist’s “Bread & Wine”. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “(in)courage Bloom Book Club Blog – “Bread & Wine” by Shauna Niequist (Part 3)

  1. Your chili recipe sounds yummy. I may have to add that to my winter repertoire! My standby recipe is one my husband’s grandmother used. She added a can of spaghettios to stretch it when her boys unexpectedly brought home friends for dinner.

    • Thanks for reading Elizabeth! I usually buy an additional can of kidney beans to add later when stretching leftovers. Adding paghettios sounds interesting though! I tried to comment on your post the other night but was not able to. I’m new at this so I’ll try again now.

Leave a Reply

